17 March 2008

Peace is kosher and halaal -- but is it nistisimou?

The Times - Peace is kosher and halaal:
"Muslim and Jewish students got together yesterday to cook up a storm at the University of Johannesburg.

The Centre for Islamic Studies and the SA Union of Jewish Students joined forces to promote peace by cooking a meal together.

Caylee Talpert, chairman of the Jewish organisation, said: “This event is meant to mend bridges and to make us all realise that we are all the same. This will ensure that we develop friendships based on knowing each other.”

The cafeteria kitchen at the university was filled with eager students in aprons and chef’s hats.

While I'm pretty certain some Lenten fare (nistisimou) is decidedly not kosher, like shellfish, the vegan style of Lenten fasting food is probably both kosher and halaal as well.

And while some food products are marked Kosher, and some are marked Halaal, I've never seen any marked as Nistisimou. I've been to conferences and meetings where Kosher and Halaal food has been offered and served, but never Lenten fare.

Even in Greese, I've found it difficult to find fasting food. The exception, ironically enough, was MacDonalds, which offered a "McLent" special (MacSarakosti): a veggie burger or six spring rolls. One hopes that the chips weren't flavoured with beef (a Hindu sued them in the USA over that), and that the potatoes weren't genetically modified with genes derived from rat fat.

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails